**And just an FYI: if you see a book listed on my blog that is part of a series, just go ahead and assume that I've read all the books, or am working on reading ALL the books within that series. I may not always list them on here but trust me - they were read.

Sunday, November 7, 2010


Author: Paula Morris

Rebecca Brown is being shipped off to her crazy Aunt Claudia's while her Dad has work to do in China. Not only is she being ripped out of NYC and being sent to New Orleans...but she's also having to switch schools.

At her new school, Rebecca is treated like she's invisible. At least to everyone besides Anton Grey, the cutest guy at the school. But she's not sure he's being "real" with her. Then, late one night, Rebecca makes a friend. Only there's a catch...she's a ghost. Her name is Lisette and she lived a long time ago. But she's got a serious score to settle with some of the local, present families.

As Rebecca learns more about Lisette and her own past, she finds the two of them are on a journey NO ONE can derail. Can she help settle the score so Lisette can be at rest???

This book is a swift, fun read. It is a young adult novel so no worries about age appropriateness if you have teens who'd like to read it. Great read.....go pick it up!

Thursday, November 4, 2010

First Drop of Crimson

Author: Jeaniene Frost

Frost is also the author of  The Night Huntress Series. Which were awesome as well. If you haven't read them - check them out too.

This book is a "spin-off" from her Night Huntress Series. Cat's best friend, Denise, is in a bit of a predicament. A Demon has been killing off her family members. This, just after losing her husband to vampire's and a miscarriage from losing her husband. Denise promised herself she'd swore off the world that involved vamps - but she's got no one else to turn to but Cat, her best friend who happens to be half-vampire.

In trying to contact Cat for help, she calls Spade. The only vampire she knows who hasn't changed his phone number. She tells him what she's learned. That a demon is after her family. Apparently her long ago relative made a deal with him to become powerful, then sent him back to hell. Now the demon is back with vengeance. Not only is Denise branded by the demon, but she can also shape-shift due to this new power that came with her branding....and she HAS to find her relative or the demon will KILL ALL of her family.

Spade wants to help. He's been drawn to Denise since the first time he laid eyes on her more than a year ago. But back then he couldn't act on his feelings. She was married and her best friend was his best friends mate. But now, she's a widow, she needs help and he wants to keep her safe. But even if they can find her relative, what will keep the demon from killing her too, or anyone else? Denise is tired of watching everyone she cares about die. She wants to help..... even if it will kill her.

Great, fun read. Easy to get lost in. :)

Meredith Gentry Series

Author: Laurell K. Hamilton

A Kiss of Shadows
A Caress of Twilight
Seduced by Moonlight
A Stroke of Midnight
Mistral's Kiss
A Lick of Frost
Swallowing Darkness
Divine Misdemeanors

Alright....so here is another series provided by one of my all time favorite authors. Meredith Gentry is a private investigator. But more importantly she is a Faerie Princess. She disappeared from faerie a few years ago in order to try and loose herself in the human realm. Between her father's murder, her Aunt (Queen of Air and Darkness) trying to drown her when she was little and her Uncle (King of Light and Illusion) rejecting her from the Seelie Court she doesn't regret the choice to leave. But after being outed by her crazy cousin Cel (and by that I mean almost being murdered) she has no choice but to return. Her Aunt offers her the opportunity of a lifetime. A race, between herself and Cel. Whomever gets with child first can have the crown.

Now....Meredith will have her troubles. Being a half-breed, not everyone will agree to having her as their Queen. But her father did not leave her without knowledge. Her political knowledge will serve her well, sometimes even better then her guards can. So far I have read the first four from this series and absolutely love them. Mistral's Kiss is waiting for me on my nightstand...

Be warned, if you're not into fantasy or romance novels then this series is probably not for you. Seeing as how it's all about getting Meredith pregnant or killing whatever is trying to kill her before it does. Just fair warning. I however, will read ALL of them!

Lament: The Faerie Queens Deception

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Some of you may have already read Stiefvater's The Wolves of Mercy Falls series that include Shiver and Linger. I enjoyed both of them by the way. Now Stiefvater introduces us to her world of homicidal faeries.

Dierdre Monaghan is a sixteen-year-old girl who has spent time wishing her life wasn't so boring. Her best friend in the entire world, James, and herself are really gifted in music. Dee plays the harp and sings while he can play the bag-pipes. During their competition for a music scholarship Dee meets Luke Dillon. A boy who miraculously has appeared in her dreams. Turns out Luke is a faerie assassin - who was sent by the Queen to kill Dee. But after meeting her he just can't seem to do it. The queen sends out another assassin named Aodhan to keep an eye on them both and guarantee the job gets done.

Turns out Dee's family has a history of an ability to see Faeries, these people are also called cloverhands. Her grandmother and her mother could see them. They even have iron jewelry to make sure the faeries they do see cannot hurt them. But Dee never understood just how different she was until her ability came into being and how far she'll go to keep her loved ones safe.

This story was a great easy read. There is also a second novel in this series called Ballad which I have already requested from the library.