**And just an FYI: if you see a book listed on my blog that is part of a series, just go ahead and assume that I've read all the books, or am working on reading ALL the books within that series. I may not always list them on here but trust me - they were read.

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Lament: The Faerie Queens Deception

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Some of you may have already read Stiefvater's The Wolves of Mercy Falls series that include Shiver and Linger. I enjoyed both of them by the way. Now Stiefvater introduces us to her world of homicidal faeries.

Dierdre Monaghan is a sixteen-year-old girl who has spent time wishing her life wasn't so boring. Her best friend in the entire world, James, and herself are really gifted in music. Dee plays the harp and sings while he can play the bag-pipes. During their competition for a music scholarship Dee meets Luke Dillon. A boy who miraculously has appeared in her dreams. Turns out Luke is a faerie assassin - who was sent by the Queen to kill Dee. But after meeting her he just can't seem to do it. The queen sends out another assassin named Aodhan to keep an eye on them both and guarantee the job gets done.

Turns out Dee's family has a history of an ability to see Faeries, these people are also called cloverhands. Her grandmother and her mother could see them. They even have iron jewelry to make sure the faeries they do see cannot hurt them. But Dee never understood just how different she was until her ability came into being and how far she'll go to keep her loved ones safe.

This story was a great easy read. There is also a second novel in this series called Ballad which I have already requested from the library.

No comments:

Post a Comment